PDA

View Full Version : Suggestions for electric Trolling

carlz
01-16-2015, 01:52 PM
I have a 20' hewes sportsman and am considering adding a bow mounted electric trolling motor, currently go motion supplied by 130 Honda jet and 9.9 kicker. Being a complete newbie to this arena, what would be suggested? Input as to motor/ batteries/ auto nav would be appreciated.

thanks

Carl

mrmike
01-16-2015, 07:24 PM
Last year added 101 mincota 36 volt system bow mounted full auto pilot love it . my boat is a guide model 21 ft.smart move

Kokaholic
01-18-2015, 09:38 AM
A 24 volt, 60" shaft Minnkota rip tide or Terrova would be great. Consider if you will be in salty water or fresh, Terrova for fresh, riptide for salt. Also go with the I -pilot. On board two bank charger to plug in at night. All of this will work great for what you have.

SuperD
01-18-2015, 12:13 PM
A 24 volt, 60" shaft Minnkota rip tide or Terrova would be great. Consider if you will be in salty water or fresh, Terrova for fresh, riptide for salt. Also go with the I -pilot. On board two bank charger to plug in at night. All of this will work great for what you have.
+1
However, there are enough alkaline lakes around that I vote for the Rip Tide for all uses. A 70 to 80 lbs thrust will be plenty of power. 101 with extra weight and maintenance of a third battery is overkill IMO unless you plan on using it in current.

mrmike
01-18-2015, 01:31 PM
The reason I choose the 101 was from the research I done everyone that was using the 80 wasn't happy with not enough power. 20 ft sled equipment ,tackle,people a lot of weight and then weather wind etc,again it depends what your going to do with your boat.I can tell you from personnel use haven't worn my battery down yet with 2 days on my system.I fish for multi species of fish and the electric is one of my best investment to up grade my sled.good luck on your choice.

SuperD
01-18-2015, 07:41 PM
mrmike, do you have a kicker?

mrmike
01-18-2015, 07:50 PM