PDA

View Full Version : Elecrtic powaaaaaa!

KokChris
03-15-2012, 12:46 AM
Has anyone used any of the solar panel chargers? My 4 horse died on me so Im stuck with my bow mount Kota for the time being. Im thinking of running 2 marine batteries in parallel with a solar panel and a digital charge controller. Im wondering if 15w .40amp would even be enough to charge a standby? Electric mumbo jumbo is not my thing. Im a machinist. Any ideas other than hunt for a new motor lol. Im a full time college student so money is tight.

Hope this fits in with boat maintenance.

Btw, Im pushing a 14ft Kalamath dlx. So dont worry Im not heading into the bay with a 20ft glass boat. lol

-Chris

Kokanee-Toni
03-15-2012, 01:22 AM
I don't know about electrical things but I did see a Mercury 5HP Short Shaft for $650 by winterun.

KokChris
03-15-2012, 02:13 AM
Id be all over a new motor if money wasnt an issue. Ive been laid off for a good while and decided to go back to school. As of right now the Ranger need tires and Im trying to put my VW bus motor back together. Id be stretched thin if I committed to another motor for the boat. There sure are a bunch of good deals though to be had out there! Thats why Im just trying to make my current set up a bit more reliable and last longer on the water. Until I get another gasser that is.

Kokanee-Toni
03-15-2012, 10:19 AM
I know if money were not an issue you would also be buying new and not used. I can sympathize with not having enough money. I would be hard pressed if something went haywire.

SuperD
03-15-2012, 10:22 AM
The solar charger you mention is something that would only work as a maintenance charger. You'd likely have to add another decimal place to that 15W to make it something capable of doing a recharge. Best bet is to have 2 batteries and a 110v source to recharge.