PDA

View Full Version : Descale for smoking or not?

bertschb
06-24-2011, 08:19 PM
I'm new to Kokanee fishing and need some advice. I was told by a gal at a fish cleaning station recently that I need to remove all scales from the fish. She said that was REALLY important. So, I did that for the last batch of fish I caught. I smoked those fish and they were awesome! But, it takes forever to remove scales using my filet knife. I mean, I'm spending 5 minutes per fish removing scales.

My wife and I caught 15 fish today and after removing the scales on three fish (and looking at the remaining 12) my wife said "why don't we just leave the scales on and see what happens?"

I smoke my fish whole with skin on both sides. I peel the skin off after smoking them. My concern is that I might get scales on the meat while marinating them and while handling them after smoking while removing the skin.

So, my question is - if you are going to smoke fish, do you remove the scales first?

Sorry for the newb question but I didn't have a dad to teach me this stuff...

skookum9
06-24-2011, 09:35 PM
Scaling shouldn't take that long, but then again you shouldn't be using your fillet knife to do it. A lot of things will work fairly well, things like wire brushes and nylon parts brushes. One of the best tools I have found is a plastic version of steel wool. I don't remember what it is called but it's a common product sold for washing dishes. Easy to use and takes the scales right off. The only thing easier to use is a garden hose sprayed backwards on the fish, but this can make a real mess too.