PDA

View Full Version : Looking for a wickiup report

mrmike
05-23-2011, 01:44 PM
Heading out thursday, looking for a report was told camp grounds are aok and open.

hubtucker
05-24-2011, 08:30 PM
Campgrounds have been good since a week after the opener. Headed up at 9:00 a.m. in the morning. I hear the fish are scattered. I fished the 2 weeks after the opener. Fish scattered, a few 11 inchers, mostly 12's, some fat, some skinny (look like 8 inchers). However, about a third of the catch were about 15 1/2 inches. Largest was 18 1/2 inches.

bertschb
05-24-2011, 10:25 PM
I'm VERY new to Kokanee fishing so take what I say with a grain of salt.

I've been there the last three week. Caught seven real quick three weeks ago. Fish and Game guy said we did better than other folks he talked to that day. Only caught 3 or 4 two weeks ago and nothing last Thursday and Friday. But, I also had a new downrigger and was messing with that (no idea what I'm doing).

I did see other folks catching fish every time I was out. I think fishing has been fair the last couple weeks. Not great but not bad. They do seem to be scattered based on where I saw other's catching fish.

There is basically no snow left anywhere. What surprised me was the lower parking lot was full last Thursday and Friday when I got there at around 8:00. I didn't expect that at all. It was as busy as the weekends.

If you actually know how to fish for Kokanee (unlike me), you will probably do fine!

mrmike
05-25-2011, 12:40 PM
Thanks for the reports/ I'm a firm believer in barometer reading's. I feel affect the bite with these local on and off storm. The family going up for the big holiday maybe I'll meet you guy up there and we can compare notes I usually have the lake dialed in. I have a wrap on my sled.

skookum9
05-26-2011, 02:18 AM