PDA

View Full Version : Use my Traeger or buy a Little Chief for smoking?

bertschb
05-15-2011, 10:48 AM
I'm new to Kokanee fishing and need some help choosing the best tool for smoking Kokanee. Price doesn't matter. I have a large Traeger grill but have never tried smoking anything on it. I've read that you can smoke fish on the Treager but it's a little too warm. Some folks say they leave the lid open a couple of inches so it runs cooler. I'd love to use the Traeger because I bought the large smoking rack with it so it's ready to go.

If you could have any smoker for free, what would you get?

Thanks for your help. The information you share here is really helpful to newbies.

SuperD
05-15-2011, 11:12 AM
What is the lowest box temp you can get with your traeger? If you can get close to 200° - 225° try the traeger first and see how it comes out.

Kokanee Kid
05-15-2011, 11:42 AM
I have a big chief, works great for smoking kokes and salmon! But if you ever wanted to get a lil more heat ya can't do it. All you get is on and off with those smokers no heat control other than insulating them or open the lid. But I like mine!

SuperD
05-15-2011, 09:03 PM
This is my primary smoker. 4 racks and heat control from 200° to 400°

http://www.walmart.com/ip/Great-Outdoors-Smoky-Mountain-21-Gas-Smoker/12429508?sourceid=1500000000000025851520&srccode=cii_18492716&cpncode=21-112152270-2

SeaDog
05-15-2011, 10:12 PM
Hi!

Look in this forum, and read my earlier post dated 4/6/11 (Industrial Electric Smoker).

SeaDog

skookum9
05-16-2011, 01:29 AM