PDA

View Full Version : How do you tie those goldurned tandem hook knots?

Full_Monte
10-05-2008, 12:43 PM
After spending another $70 on lures at the fishing store yesterday, I sat down on the couch and watched football on TV while going through the tackle box and "setting up" my gear for next season. I tried tying those tandem hook rigs about 30 times and ended up with only two sets that "might" work. It was very frustrating. If any of you guys have any hints on how to do this, I'd sure appreciate it.

Thanks!

SilverBullets
10-05-2008, 02:09 PM
Goggle snell knots. I have found that not only wearing glasses, but the purchase of a magnifying lamp helped out alot! The snell knot is not bad once you get the hang of it. When I first started trying to tie my own rigs I got very frustrated also until I got the lamp and was actually able to see what I was doing. thumbsup

Full_Monte
10-05-2008, 02:38 PM
Silver Bullets...

Thanks for the tip. I've been tying knots for 48 years and know a few different ones. I also learned how to tie all kinds of knots while in the Navy, but this one had me baffled. I'll try again tonite.

Kokaholic
10-05-2008, 03:55 PM
One more thingto add to all of teh other tools that everyone has mentioned which all make it easier is a fly tying vise. I use my vise and it speeds things up dramatically. I would just find a cheap one some where that somebody might want to get rid of and use it. Sure helps me. What helps me the most is the magnifying glasses.

Full_Monte
10-06-2008, 03:45 AM
One more thingto add to all of teh other tools that everyone has mentioned which all make it easier is a fly tying vise. I use my vise and it speeds things up dramatically. I would just find a cheap one some where that somebody might want to get rid of and use it. Sure helps me. What helps me the most is the magnifying glasses.

Good idea! It happens, my Dad tied flies for many years and I'm sure there are a couple of those fly-tying vises in his fishing stuff.