PDA

View Full Version : New member, looking for advice

Kokanut
04-11-2011, 09:35 PM
Hi, my name is Bob and live near Monmouth Or. I like what I see in the forum already and haven't been here very long. I'm pretty new to Kokanee fishing. Just started fishing at Green Peter last spring and went 8-10 times before getting too busy on the farm. I did OK, but there was quite of bit of trial and error before I started figuring it out. I don't have downriggers on my boat and am thinking about getting some. I've never fished with them, so I don't know what to look for, how to use them or if I really need them. I have a 17 1/2 ft. Jetcraft with an outboard and a 8 hp honda kicker. I would really like some good advice on downriggers and some general tips as well. Also about using this forum.
Thanks in advance
Bob

SilverBullets
04-11-2011, 10:21 PM
Welcome to KFF Bob! I'd recommend getting downriggers and a good quality fishfinder. The Scotty manuals are a great downrigger to get ya started. I've had them on the boat for around 7 years now and they've been trouble free. Get the 2 foot per crank model that can handle a 8lb ball. Once you catch a few with the downrigger you'll see how well they work... good luck and if you have any more questions just hollar.

Big Al
04-12-2011, 01:20 AM
If you can I would make sure u get the ones with the big booms. Some day u might want to get four and u will need the longer booms.

SuperD
04-12-2011, 07:14 PM
Kokanut, how were you getting your lures to depth last year? A couple of electric, long boom downriggers will change your fishing life! How deep are the mid summer Kokes in Green Peter? I'll temporarily disagree with SilverBullets about starting with manuals. It is money spent you'll never get back. If you start with the best you'll have no regrets.

SmokeOnTheWater
04-12-2011, 10:40 PM
101welcomw Kokanut

Enjoy the sport within your means! $$