PDA

View Full Version : When

Kokanee-Toni
01-04-2011, 01:32 AM
Since I am somewhat new to kokanee fishing...when can I start fishing for them (yr. round lakes) with a chance of catching?

oldguy43
01-04-2011, 11:34 AM
They catch them through the ice in eastern washington and I have caught them on lake sammanish all winter fishing for cutts ( have to release them)

Kokonuts
01-04-2011, 05:50 PM
I start about the first of March at Lake Merwin, which is real early but I just cant wait any longer!!
Plus the early start gives me a chance to try out all the new "STUFF"!!!

Kokonuts tooexcited

kokanee_slayer
01-05-2011, 01:23 AM
I haven't been out since mid Oct and am getting Cabin Fever so I've got the bug as well. Unless the weather is real crappy, I will probably go out this weekend. I tend to hit the lakes that are open for year round fishing early every year and you can catch Koks through the winter months. However, it has been my experience that the action doesn't really start picking up until the water temp hits about 54 degrees. Regardless it's still nice being out on the water.

Bluknight
01-05-2011, 08:58 AM
Looking at my log I started last year I apparently started in April on Merwin / Yale. This coincided to the Columbia River springer season turning into a no longer enjoyable to fish mad house!

My start time will likely depend on the same thresh hold this year.

KOK head
01-05-2011, 08:39 PM
That a good ? Kokanee-Ton! I think you can go to lake wa. and still hook up with some nice kokanee , just remember you cant keep them any bigger then 15inchs !

Get'nJiggy
01-13-2011, 02:10 PM
Got my first one March 6th last year at Yale. It was on a shake down run to get the cobwebs out of the boat. April is when it really starts for me.

smokin' Kokes
02-15-2011, 06:45 AM
watch the wind on the early Merwin Yale fishing

comes up really fast out of the east. makes the ride back ROUGH

rain gear and a top mandatory

fish the surface