PDA

View Full Version : Warning! Polycrylic

ReelJerks
10-13-2010, 11:33 AM
I've been using this product by MINWAX as a top coat over my UV paints for the past two years or so. In my preparation to repaint some flashers and s/blades I dumped a bunch into a DAWN and hot water solution to remove all traces of Pro-Cure. That simple solution ate the finish. Now I must strip the blades back to bare brass before I repaint.....no biggie.
http://i258.photobucket.com/albums/hh252/eddallen/Equip%20-%20Lures/afterdawn.gif

Just passing it on.

Edd

Bduck
10-13-2010, 11:53 AM
Its amazing how DAWN works. I'm a mechanic and when my work shirts get stained with oil, my wife will put a little DAWN on them and they come clean. She use to trash the shirts. To take the finish off of your blades like that is awesome especially if your going to repaint blades. Nice safe accidental find. worthy12

MMDON
10-14-2010, 10:34 AM
Wow! I'm a wood guy and was unaware Minwax made a sealer for metal . . .

ReelJerks
10-14-2010, 11:17 AM
Wow! I'm a wood guy and was unaware Minwax made a sealer for metal . . .Works great on painted brass/nickle. How does the 'TOP COAT' know what is under the paint that is on top of the primer that is on top of the adhesion promoter? Actually I used this product because it was what my paint manufacturer recommended. But do you think the only problem is not the DAWN Don? Caution! Damage will occur if trolling through any DAWN treated water.
Two years of heavy usage without incident, then the DAWN 101shock1101

Edd

MMDON
10-14-2010, 09:52 PM
Sorry, I was just trying to figure out how a finish could fail with dish soap. Lately we've been working through a lot of topcoat and under coat failures when using a UV coat or UV paint base. The chemicals in the UV are highly reactant!

ReelJerks
10-15-2010, 09:17 AM