PDA

View Full Version : Gang Trolling a Hootchie?

SilverBullets
09-27-2008, 07:36 PM
I know, I know...Hoochies have no action of there own, thus a dodger is needed to impart some action to them. I read a interesting post on another forum the other day though. Seems that the koks wouldn't touch the hoochie behind a dodger on that particular day, but they couldn't keep them away when trolled behind a small set of gang trolls. I've never used this technique, and just wondered if anyone else has any experience with this. If so, what leader length would you recommend? I generally use a heavier leader and a length of 9"-12" to give the hoochies action from the dodger. I prefer trolling a dodger, but on a slow day a small set of trolls might be worth a try.

Full_Monte
09-29-2008, 10:30 PM
I have no experience with a hoochie behind a gang troll, but it's worth a try.
The hoochie has no action of it's own, so all the attraction would be from the spinning blades of the gang troll. Trout bite on a worm trolled behind these flashers and it's the most common way to troll for trout on a lake. A hoochie would have no more action than a worm. If you want to use gang trolls, you might want to use a lure behind with some action of its own, as well as scent and corn. There's an interesting video on this site about using hoochies behind dodgers and how to adjust your leader length.

Digi-Troller
09-30-2008, 12:54 AM
The easiest way to give a hoochie action without a dodger is to add a spinner blade to it. This would make a hoochie work great with gang trolls. On a slow day its definately worth mixing it up,

HiTechKoke
09-30-2008, 10:06 AM