PDA

View Full Version : Rookie, but not really

MXDAD777
05-25-2010, 03:57 PM
I am a complete rookie when it comes to Kokanee fishing and downrigger fishing in general. However, I have been fishing since I could walk. I have spent all of my years chasing fish in the rivers, (stripers, salmon, steelhead, sturgeon, shad, etc) I have also done a lot of lake fishing for bass and float tubing for trout. I recently bought 3 Scotty 1101 electrics and have decided to jump into downrigger fishing head first. I am taking my first trip this coming Friday and am going to give em heck for 4 days. Wish me luck.
PS I'm from Northern California and will be fishing Stampede.....any pointers you want to give a rookie trying to catch some kokanee?

kokaneekid
05-25-2010, 05:08 PM
I haven't had the opportunity to fish Northern California yet, but there is a lot of great people who do and they are all here. Sounds like you have all the right gear just need to be pointed in the right direction. This is a great place for that. Good luck fishing this year...

Fish On kokaneekid

Full_Monte
05-26-2010, 08:42 AM
Make sure you can "see" your down rigger balls on the fishfinder by adjusting your transmitter/receiver angle a bit.
You want to be able to avoid hitting the bottom (most of the time). Also, ADJUST YOUR DOWN RIGGER CLUTCHES SO THAT THEY CAN PAY OUT LINE if you hang up on the bottom.
I've heard of some stories of 24 foot fiberglass boats getting capsized with clutches adjusted too tight. Down rigger fishing is a great way to fish, but it will make you a believer in good fish finders, and you will need to keep an eye on the FF most of the time, especially with three balls to track. Good luck, and welcome to down rigger fishing!

HiTechKoke
05-26-2010, 09:40 AM