PDA

View Full Version : Do you stop or troll when hooked up?

Full_Monte
09-20-2008, 08:52 AM
I'm new at this, so please bear with me. I'm wondering if it's best to stop the boat when hooked up to a fish, or to keep trolling. I notice on some of the online videos that people seem to keep trolling and use a long net off the stern to land the fish. I'm interested in any opinions. Thanks!

Lunkerhunter2
09-20-2008, 12:06 PM
I usually just keep going unless there are more than 2 fish on at the same time.

AFDan52
09-20-2008, 12:39 PM
I too usually keep moving unless we have more than one on , or maybe a larger fish on .

MackPrince
09-20-2008, 04:57 PM
For me I usually stop the motor because I tend to fish alone and it lets me focus on fighting and netting the fish without worrying about the prop or steering. I fish in a 14ft v-hull, but with a larger boat I'd be inclined to keep moving like others have mentioned.

nob
09-20-2008, 06:20 PM
I have a tr1 gold auto pilot , and when I hook up I hit the idle resume buttom and the suzuki 9.9 4stroke w/a 5 pitch prop goes to low idle, about .4mph and it still holds a heading. and after I land the fish hit the button again and it goes back to where i had it set. man what a great tool !!!!

Full_Monte
09-20-2008, 10:24 PM
I have a tr1 gold auto pilot , and when I hook up I hit the idle resume buttom and the suzuki 9.9 4stroke w/a 5 pitch prop goes to low idle, about .4mph and it still holds a heading. and after I land the fish hit the button again and it goes back to where i had it set. man what a great tool !!!!