PDA

View Full Version : New to fishing Koke's

dob60
05-10-2010, 04:29 PM
Hello-

I'm new to fishing for Kokanee and would appriciate any tips. I will be using a 16ft tri-hull, trolling with a Minn Kota electric motor. Fish finder is a Humminbird wide. I have read a fair amount about Koke fishing, and will be using wedding ring spinners or needlefish. Bait will be white shoepeg corn with various scents or berkly power maggots. I do have a downrigger. I want to try Green Peter or Odell.
Thanks dob60

268bull
05-10-2010, 07:03 PM
doB60, welcome to the forum! Would be glad to share tips for helping out a new Koke fisherman. First thing I would recommend that you find a larger engine than the Min-Kota. Not to say they're not a good trolling motor to have but your going to need an engine that you can control your trolling while dealing with the wind. Both lakes you mentioned can get quite windy and choppy, and it's good to have a motor to keep contol of your boat. If not, you'll never get to fish! I like to use a good limber rod, 6 1/2 to 7 ft.. I use glass rods but that's just a matter of personal preference. Find some gang trolls, and re-tie your wedding rings. It's cheaper to buy wedding rings than gang trolls. Keep your ? coming, there are plenty of good fisherman on this forum that will answer ? for you. Bull

Brooster
05-10-2010, 07:07 PM
sounds good. get some hoochie squids and run them 8 - 12 " behind a dodger/ slingblade tipped w/your bait. troll 1.5 - 1.8 mph. FISH ON!!!!thumbsup

dob60
05-12-2010, 09:11 PM
Thank you for the replys guys... Can you suggest where at Green peter I should look for fish??
Thanks

Good fishing!!

wood4heat
05-13-2010, 01:31 AM