PDA

View Full Version : Kokanee Fishing up here

Cariboospeed
03-22-2010, 01:57 AM
I'm going to make this fairly local to me, I'm not an expert on Kokanee, or the plethora of lakes we have in British Colombia. I'll keep this all fairly close to the major hwy '97' and east of the Fraser River. The region of B.C. I live in is called the "Cariboo", spelled that way, and I don't know if there is many actual Caribou left, I've never seen one...but there's lots of places to fish. The south Cariboo begins about 4.5 hours from the border, Quesnel at the north of the region is a good 2.5 hours further.

We have a great resource called Backroad Mapbooks, http://www.backroadmapbooks.com/main/products.html
and I'd suggest getting one and using it to plan fishing trips. There is a version for Southern B.C. for the shorter road trips. Although I lived in the south Okanagan, I'm really not too familiar with the area. I can say that there is Kokanee in Lake Okanagan, and its pretty busy throughout the region in the summer.

Here's a map (http://www.bcadventure.com/adventure/explore/cariboo/scariboo.html) of the South Cariboo to refer to, it shows the names of most of the lakes, but I'll still use the town names to reference location. The yellow dots are Provincial campgrounds and are quite well kept.

In the other thread someone mentioned Sheridan Lake, there's a whole bunch of lakes in the area just east of 100 Mile House, (South Cariboo). Sheridan, Deka, Horse, Green, Canim, Bridge and Sulphurous are some of the larger ones, and there's a few thousand little ones, from 5-100 acre sized. Due to the sheer number of lakes our Dept. of Fisheries and Oceans doesn't stock them all, so many are only holding indigenous species like Rainbows, Lake trout, and Brooks. Most all of the major lakes have been stocked with different strains of Rainbows, and our beloved land-locked Sockeye.