PDA

View Full Version : New to this site

Cosby
03-06-2010, 11:44 AM
Hello All,

Had no idea this site existed until a friend sent me the link just now. I've been fishing Lake Merwin since I was a kid (50 years now) for Kokanee and been pretty successful at it, but always looking to learn new techniques. I noticed some conversation about the water level at Merwin being dropped. Just an f.y.i. here is a link (below) that I've been using for years that I use prior to pulling my boat (1 hour drive) to Merwin to fish. It not only shows real time water level at Merwin (compared to full pool) but also shows Yale and Swift too.

Fishing for Springer's right now in the Columbia, 4 trips to date and 2 fish. Will start fishing Merwin again, probably mid-late May and continue through the summer until the fall Salmon show up.

Cosby thumbsup

http://www.srh.noaa.gov/productview.php?pil=RVMPQR

skookum9
03-06-2010, 11:55 AM
Thanks for the tips, Cosby. And welcome aboard. I too had never heard about this site until earlier this year when I went searching the net for more kokanee info. I sure would like to hear about some of your fishing experience on Merwin and Yale. I've never fished them but they are much closer to me than most other options I have and so this year I intend to give them both a try. That and the fact that my uncle and cousin who live in WA got themselves pontoon boats so now I can bring mine up there and join them on the water.

I would like to ask you what your reasons are for waiting until mid/late May. Is there just too much other fishing going on earlier or is there just that much more success with those lakes later on? I'm thinking about trying to make a trip up there early to mid April, what's your take on that?

Bduck
03-06-2010, 02:36 PM
Welcome Cosby thumbsup

Cosby
03-07-2010, 12:56 PM