PDA

View Full Version : Large mouth bass in Ashley

Piscivorous Pike
09-02-2009, 10:04 AM
People living on Ashley report that for two years they have found Large mouth bass, Micropterus salmoides and the population density and year class strongly suggest that they are well established now. Why such a disasster? Stock a big sun fish, yes, bass are just big sun fish, same family and now you can fish for bass in Ashley at the cost of a unique fishery. Bass are everywhere in the USA, Kokes are not, bass have a relationship to real sport fish like cotton tail rabbits to white tail deer.

You will see changes, likely not for the better in the populations of Kokes in the lake.

Bad news and I wonder how this is going to pan out with FWP and also the environmental effects and the generous limits on Ashley for Kokes.

Having an education as a wildlife manager I understand deeply some of these consequences and it worries me.

It aggravates me that in such a pristine delicate fishing hole someone that cannot catch trout and Kokes would dump in a rough fish like bass. This is the same lame unifiormed mind set the public had in the 1870's-1890's. The data is in and this multi species stocking just does not work. Bass like other fish eat what is in the lake. Whatever they consume is biomass that is converted to bass and not used in the production of trout and salmon. There is not an unlimited supply of feed in these clear lakes, that is why they are clear they are relatively sterile! That is also an evolultionary reason Salmon die after they breed as it returns nutrients to the food chain ensuring the fry some plankton to eat in these sterile cold waters.

Bass to a cold water fisherman like me is like cotton tail rabbits to a white tail hunter. No comparison. Imagine having a mountain of prime white tail hunting and deciding to wipe them out so you could hunt rabbits! Same difference as this new problem.