PDA

View Full Version : Applying Corn To Hooks

Lanny44
06-24-2009, 07:22 PM
Going to Yale Lake Saturday. This will be only my 3rd time fishing for Kokanee. What is the proper way to put the corn on the hook? How much per hook? Just joined this forum - great place for me to learn and hopefully meet some new fishermen.

SilverBullets
06-24-2009, 08:55 PM
First off Welcome aboard Lanny44. I'm no expert, but I do get my share of kokes by putting one kernel on each hook. Alot of lures can get their action messed up by over loading. Try putting the kernel on so that the large round end is facing fwd against the water pressure and the open end of the kernel is facing back so when your trolling the open end of the kernel leaves a scent trail. When you pierce the kernal with the hook, run the hook through the narrow sides of the kernal, not the flat side

MackPrince
06-24-2009, 09:07 PM
Ditto. For trebles I usually jump to two kernels. I also like to change the bait every 10 minutes or so to keep the scent fresh.

wahoohunter
06-24-2009, 09:24 PM
Welcome Lanny44-
White Shoepeg corn seems to work the best for the lakes down here in California. You might have to look a little for it, but most of the larger chain stores carry it. I know that Green Giant markets it, maybe someone knows of another brand in your neck of the woods.

Lanny44
06-24-2009, 10:06 PM
Thank you all for the "welcome" and the info on applying the corn. I have been loading it on, covering the whole hook with 6 to 7 kernals. Looking forward to getting on the water.

SilverBullets
06-24-2009, 10:43 PM