PDA

View Full Version : New to KFF and going to Flaming Gorge

dbcfr
06-20-2009, 02:54 AM
Hi All,
I am a new member of KP and KFF. I have fished few of the lakes in the Fresno, Ca area Shaver, Bass Lake ect. I have been fishing Koknee for about 4 years.
We as a family have decided to make our vacation destination Flaming Gorge Utah/WY We have got a house boat for the first week in Aug. and will be taking the 16' Koknee troller with us...I guess I am looking for any information on Flaming Gorge. What should we take, weather, temp, boat rigging, rods, lures, line size, Licensing, Bait, VHF Channels, Good fishing spots to get us started, ect...

Thanks
Dave B

This is a picture of my 8 year olds first Kok on tuesday at shaver lake
we did limit out with a bunch released!

Kokaholic
06-20-2009, 09:26 AM
Well.......................... Welcome abord.

Weather: It should be very nice for you this time of year. the evening are very pleasant and the days warm up very nice temps during the day can reach high 80s to low 90s. Higher altitudes, fater sunburn. However, we have a thing up here called Wind. It can be nasty. Speacilly out in a 17' boat. keep an eye to the sky. when and if you see the clouds building and and the wind picking up, GET OFF THE WATER. Period. Dont chance it, its not worth it. Mornings will be your best bet for great fishing and great weather.

Tackle. Most anything that you use down in your part of he woods works well up here.

Tocky mountain tackle is many of us around heres tackle of choice. Bahama mama dodgers, Hyper plad dodgers, Watermelon, Pink,pearlescent and chartruse colors work well. Depths for fish will range from 20-60 feet. There is a plethora of tackle out there that catches fish up there. ,most all of the local stores and Marinas are well stocked with what you will need if you dont have it. Pro cure scents will enhance your catch rate.thumbsup

Line size: most guys run 10-12 pound test.