PDA

View Full Version : Kicker fuel system

AFDan52
06-01-2009, 11:07 AM
Hi guys , I need a little help here, ( though some may think otherwise laugh hyst) I want to plumb a fuel line to my 9.9 Yamaha from my main engine ( 302 Mercrusier ) . I have the fuel line built and the Kicker runs very nicely. So my question is should I be using a valve to switch from one engine to the other or does it relly matter?
I'm looking for ideas to do this right , I don't want to starve either engine.movie89586

bobco
06-01-2009, 11:41 AM
I used to use a T but now have a valve/selector and feel better about it, always the chance of an air leak with a t pulling air out of the other motor causing lean conditions that would result in power head melt down.

Bduck
06-01-2009, 01:14 PM
I have been using a T off my main system for a couple of years now with no problems. My main motor is an Merc IO 4cyl & Merc 9.9 kicker. I don't like the primer bulb, when it gets cold, its hard to prime fuel into kicker. Thinking about a electric fuel pump might solve that.

Propnut69
06-01-2009, 06:37 PM
I have a three way valve,it's either shut to both engines,or open to my main motor or to my kicker. It was has worked great so far,and I really like having the external tank out of the way.thumbsup

Kokaholic
06-01-2009, 10:19 PM
I plan to do what Tim has done and do a three way switch when I get me a kicker. Just got to find a kicker,worthy12

SuperD
06-01-2009, 11:30 PM
Why aren't you just using a second port off the fuel/water separator? My objection to a valve system is I never want to shut down one engine to start another.

AFDan52
06-01-2009, 11:44 PM
SuperD , I decided to Tee off the Fuel/Water separator and so far no problems. I was going to use a 3-way valve and decided against it mainly because of the limited room that I have under the Doghouse. The tee style works best.

3RivrFishr
06-01-2009, 11:48 PM