PDA

View Full Version : Some words to the wise about trailers

Full_Monte
05-03-2009, 02:05 PM
Hi Guys,

I have about 40 years of occasional towing experience, but got a lesson the other day from the school of hard knocks. It was about 4:30 am. I hooked my light-weight trailer and boat up to the truck and camper and the wife and I took off. On the freeway, I started hearing a noise like a loud wind. Not being able to see my small boat/trailer behind the truck/camper rig, I listened intently to the sound. Then I checked the rear view mirror and saw a hail of sparks behind me. Pulling over to the shoulder, I found out that my hitch had popped off the ball and had been dragging down the road by the chains. My trailer has no brakes of its own. These were my errors:

1. Not having a dual-point-of-mounting for the safety chain. Done right, you cross the chains under the tongue so that the tongue rests on the saddle formed by the chains if it pops off the ball. This would have prevented the sparks and damage to my wheeled tongue jack.
2. Not adjusting the length of the safety chains to keep the tongue from hitting the pavement if it came loose. You need enough slack for tight turns, but not so much that the tongue hits the pavement if it comes loose. You want it to drop below the level of the bumper, but not much further.

I still don't know how the tongue popped off the ball. I replaced the hitch on the tongue.

Here's some more info on trailer safety, including brakes:

http://www.sherline.com/lmbook.htm#refrn6

SilverBullets
05-03-2009, 02:18 PM
Thanks for sharing that Monte...glad to hear everything came out ok, and not too much damage. I wondered why they say to cross the chains...makes sense now. I also really never gave the chain slack much thought. I will definitely check it out next time I'm hitched up...Thanks!!!thumbsup

Kokonuts
05-03-2009, 03:03 PM
Another good tip from Monty! Glad to hear that everything turned out OK!