PDA

View Full Version : Canning Kokes

SuperD
03-04-2009, 02:25 PM
Does anyone here can? I'm thinking about investing in a pressure cooker / canner and trying my hand at canning my fish. In addition to my trip to the Gorge, I'm going to Alaska in July and figured I have a lot to practice with. Interested in hearing your techniques.

Fallriverguy
03-04-2009, 02:53 PM
I have not tried it yet but have known several people that can Kokanee and they say it is fantastic.

SuperD
03-04-2009, 02:59 PM
I have not tried it yet but have known several people that can Kokanee and they say it is fantastic.

I've tasted it and it is better than "fantastic." It sounds like a lot of work but everything good is.

bobco
03-04-2009, 03:06 PM
Ive been canning for a few years. nice to have in the middle of winter for a salmon dip or salmon pattys. Just be carefull and follow directions that come with the canner. the canner I have will do I think 7-8 pint jars, a decent 4 year old koke will take a whole jar. when I know I'm going to can the salmon I skin them at the lake, the silver skinner thing of a bob with a knob on the side does a good job. In alaska you are probably going to get larger salmon, not sure how that will work out canninng them. When I have gone to alaska we vaccum packed and froze them, most place will rent you locker space for a freezer box, once deep froozen they make the journey home fine.

SilverBullets
03-04-2009, 07:06 PM
I've heard you shouldn't use a pressure cooker on a ceramic stove top. Anyone have experience with this?

SilverBullets
03-05-2009, 12:07 PM
I've heard you shouldn't use a pressure cooker on a ceramic stove top. Anyone have experience with this?

Also, how much time are you looking at to do around 20 small koks?

SuperD
03-05-2009, 12:27 PM
Also, how much time are you looking at to do around 20 small koks?