PDA

View Full Version : More downriggers or stacker

justfish
02-19-2009, 12:37 AM
I have bean debating on buying 2 more downrigger or just stacking what or your opinions ? I have two mag 10hs's

Digi-Troller
02-19-2009, 01:17 AM
At one point we had 4 downriggers on my boat. After my grandpa passed away we moved down to 3 and did more stacking. Stacking takes practice, but once you have it down you will be very effective in it. I'm almost always a more the merrier when it comes to lines in the water, but we've survived with only 3 riggers lol Of course, I added some side planers lol

ll kaidoy ll
02-19-2009, 04:02 AM
I've been stacking for the last 8 or 10 years. But, just last year we added 2 more downriggers so I wouldn't have to anymore. :p

RC McKokanee
02-19-2009, 08:45 AM
i won't use more than the two downriggers i have, i stack two each all the time and have been known to stack 3. it takes time and patience to stack, and it's a cheaper way to put more lines in the water .

SuperD
02-19-2009, 10:18 AM
I have been spoiled with my 4 downriggers and wence whenever I get on a buddy's boat and have to stack. When you stack and one rod goes off, you've lost 2 lines. Certainly your budget is a factor but this is a no brainer for me. Get more riggers. If I had the room, I'd go to 5.

Kokehead83
02-19-2009, 01:29 PM
I only have two but will go to 4 some day, that whole $$$$$ thing is holding me up. I to stack only two per DR but hey i catch fish.

Ben

Bduck
02-19-2009, 01:41 PM
I have 2 electric downriggers that have spoiled me. I also stack. I also have 2 manuel Scotty DR that I was thinking about adding on. I've had them for years and they have never failed me.

FishHunter
02-19-2009, 02:12 PM
I have been spoiled with my 4 downriggers and wence whenever I get on a buddy's boat and have to stack. When you stack and one rod goes off, you've lost 2 lines.