PDA

View Full Version : U.V. Lures

SilverBullets
11-18-2008, 10:54 PM
With all this ultra violet tackle coming out the last couple years, what has been the best depth and time of day to use them in your experience? Are they only activated to certain levels of the water column? Have they made a big difference in your catch rate? I'm mainly referring to uv apex's,hoochies, and pro-cure gels.

Kokaholic
11-18-2008, 11:06 PM
Interesting question. I found that it really didnt matter. I found the UV worked good all the time. Shallow, deep, overcast, sunny, spring, summer, didnt really matter. As the sun gre higher in the sky, we went deeper and still did well.

Just my two cents.

Digi-Troller
11-19-2008, 02:38 AM
We use glow stuff before sun-up and switch to uv as the sun starts to hit the water. uv hoochies catch fire when that sun is first penetrating the water in the morning (and continue to produce well throughout the day). I've been using them for a couple of years now and can say without a doubt that they work. They've definately increased our catch rate.

I've also had success with uv dodgers and spoons from RMT, but I havent tried the gel yet. I ran out of my old kokanee special gel in August, so next year I'll try the new UV stuff out. Tons of success on uv apexes too.

UV has its detractors, but I see nothing but positives. These are lures in true flourescent colors that survive the color shift much better. Its good to see a lot of companies getting on board and committing to providing the highest quality flourescent lures they can!

Petty4life
11-19-2008, 04:42 AM
what digi-troller saidthumbsup

FishHunter
11-19-2008, 11:31 AM
Many of the koke fisherman I have fished with won't use anything but glow and uv lures. The catch rates are far greater in their experience using them than just plain lures. I switched over to using mostly uv lures and using Pro Cure's uv gel this year and had a great year.

halojm
11-19-2008, 07:31 PM