PDA

View Full Version : Zincs on aluminum boats

Full_Monte
11-10-2008, 06:42 AM
I haven't been paying too much attention to zincs since I bought my boat. In doing some reading, I think I should change my ways. I have a zinc on my outboard, but none on the aluminum hull. My engine mounts to the transom over a rubber vibration-reducing mat. Where should I mount any anodes on the boat? I'm a little tentative about drilling holes in the hull. Should I be concerned about anodes slowing the boat down at high speeds? Thanks!

Propnut69
11-10-2008, 10:00 AM
Unless your boating in saltwater,why would you need more anodes? If you are boating in saltwater,then I guess you might.I have two on both my main o/b and my kicker.I usually take them off about once a year. I will clean them up with a little emery cloth. If you have a problem with corrosion,it should affect the motor's anodes first. I have NO experience with boating in saltwater.Maybe someone will chime in.

Kokaholic
11-10-2008, 03:52 PM
Okay..................... you guys have lost me. What do these things do? What are they intended to do? Will it help me catch as many fish as you do Timlaugh hyst

Full_Monte
11-10-2008, 04:52 PM
Unless your boating in saltwater,why would you need more anodes? If you are boating in saltwater,then I guess you might.I have two on both my main o/b and my kicker.I usually take them off about once a year. I will clean them up with a little emery cloth. If you have a problem with corrosion,it should affect the motor's anodes first. I have NO experience with boating in saltwater.Maybe someone will chime in.

I occasionally run my boat in saltwater. When I bought it used, it had some corrosion on the side chines. It looks a little like termites got to it. I was thinking that another anode or two on the hull might prevent more damage.
My motor anode is fine...I'll try cleaning it up this year and see what difference it makes.

Propnut69
11-10-2008, 05:17 PM