Thread: Detroit Reservoir, Cold and Slow

Default Detroit Reservoir, Cold and Slow

First a disclaimer. I am new to kokanee fishing and am learning to use my boat/rig effectively. I am an experienced frisherman, but am learning that catching kokanee is a science I have yet to learn. Saturday, tried Detroit Reservoir with the plan being to learn my fish finder (Raymarine Dragonfly) and to try some long lining with my Lamiglass rods. Launched at Mongold and immediately went to the mouth of Blowout Creek. The water temperature was about 51.5 degrees at the surface. We trolled back and forth across the mouth of creek at 1.3 MPH using the bow electric. Lee caught a nice, fat, kokanee within 10 minutes. 11". This was her first kokanee, so she was pretty excited. Using Uncle Carl's flashers (copper/red flourescent) with a matching assassin. Garlic scented shoepeg corn on the upper assassin hook. Caught two more small kokes that were released and a few trout (the "other" fish). My fish finder was showing the fish as fairly close to the surface and very scattered. Also tried around Piety Island and did not even get a bite. We fished for about four hours and then went in, due to the wind. Good opportunity to check out the fish finder and to get some hours on my Yammy for break in.